Do Not Sell My Personal Information
  1. Home
  2. Arsenal

Manager Of The Decade?

The International Federation of Football History and Statistics devised a system for who should be manager of the decade. They have now collated the votes from the last ten years and have produced a league table for manager of the decade.

The system is simple, there are two categories, club coach and international coach. Each year the IFFHS would award points to the manager’s based on world rankings. So 1st place would receive 20 points, 2nd would get 19 and so on until 20th place who would get 1 point. They’ve then combined each manager’s points for every year from 2001 to the current time and put international and club managers together. And here’s what they came up with…

1.Arsène Wenger
2. Sir Alex Ferguson
3. José Mourinho
4. Guus Hiddink
5. Fabio Capello
6. Luis Felipe Scolari
7. Rafael Benítez
8. Carlo Ancelotti
9. Marcello Lippi
10. Marcelo Alberto Bielsa
11. Frank Rijkaard
12. Sven-Göran Eriksson

It’s rather a bizarre list isn’t it? Arsene Wenger first? He’s won some trophies but shouldn’t be first for me. Marcelo Alberto Bielsa I’ve never heard of, but apparently he was the coach of the Argentinean Olympic Gold Medal winning team of 2004.

Sven Goran Eriksson had great success at Lazio, but that was previous to 2001. He’s actually not won a single thing since 2001, so how he’s sneaked up there is anyone’s guess.

Marcello Lippi should be way higher as well in my opinion. In that decade he won two Italian leagues, a Champions League and a World Cup.

So who would be your manager of the decade?

[poll id=”15″]

To Top

Article title: Manager Of The Decade?

Please leave feedback to help us improve the site: