Whilst Jose Mourinho may have been angered by the way in which Cardiff City wasted time on Saturday, official FIFA rules confirm it was in fact his side that got the lucky break.
The equalising goal on Saturday had more than a touch of good fortune about it, as Samuel Eto’o kicked the ball away as Cardiff goalkeeper David Marshall was bouncing it in his penalty area.
The ball ended up being tucked away by Eden Hazard, with the referee Anthony Taylor deciding that Marshall did not have the ball in his possession as he was bouncing it on the ground.
But the official FIFA rules state: “The goalkeeper is considered to be in possession of the ball while bouncing it on the ground or throwing it up in the air.”
Bluebirds manager Malky Mackay insists the goal should never have stood, and was the point in which the game changed as the Blues ran out eventual 4-1 winners in a comfortable home victory after Jordon Mutch had initially put the Welsh side into a surprise 1-0 lead.
And while these regulations prove the goal should never have been allowed with Chelsea getting a hugely lucky break, it’s surprising that Mourinho found so much to whinge about, in turn getting himself sent to the stands during the 90 minutes!
[cat_link cat=”chelsea” type=”grid”]
Click here to comment on this articleor
Give us feedback on your Football Transfer Tavern experience