Premier League

West Ham fans on Twitter loved seeing Fabianski swoop Hammer of the Year

West Ham fans on Twitter loved seeing Fabianski swoop Hammer of the Year

When it comes to West Ham United’s end of season awards night, the Irons take things very seriously. The coveted Hammer of the Year award is not one that winners take lightly and with the likes of Bobby Moore, Sir Trevor Brooking, Sir Geoff Hurst and Billy Bonds all past winners, Lukasz Fabianski can take great pride in claiming the prize last night.

There have been a number of players this season who would have made worthy winners of the famous in-club accolade. Fabianski was always going to be right up there, but Declan Rice was tipped to run him close, and with outsiders Issa Diop and Felipe Anderson it wasn’t nailed on. However, the Pole has just been too good this season and joins a prestigious list of winners.

Of the current West Ham squad Fabianski joins the likes of Aaron Cresswell, Winston Reid, Michail Antonio, Marko Arnautovic and, of course, Mark Noble to have won the accolade. It’s a great honour for the ex-Arsenal and Swansea goalkeeper and no one can begrudge him for winning it. At times Fabianski has been a one-man wall keeping teams out, and for the small price of just £7 million, he couldn’t have been a better coup.

You can read the Irons’ thoughts on Fabianski’s Hammer of the Year success here:

The Hammers can have no complaints about Fabianski winning Hammer of the Year and they can’t think of a more deserving winner.

Like what the TT have on offer? Sign up for more notifications!
To Top