Do Not Sell My Personal Information
  1. Home
  2. SPFL News

Celtic: Referee error spotted during second goal vs Dundee United

Celtic: Referee error spotted during second goal vs Dundee United - Celtic News

Celtic’s second goal could have seen Kieran Freeman sent off during the 2-0 win over Dundee United.

The Lowdown: Celtic’s penalty

Celtic continued their dominance at the top of the SPFL with victory at Tannadice Park to retain their nine-point advantage over Rangers at the top of the pile.

Following a goalless first half, the visitors opened the scoring with the ever-dangerous Jota nodding in at the back post with Mark Birighitti not covering himself in glory as Aaron Mooy’s cross sailed to the far post where the Portuguese forward nodded home.

Just five minutes later the score was eventually doubled from the penalty spot by Mooy after a VAR call saw referee Don Robertson overturn a handball decision against Freeman.

The Latest: Levein’s comments

Despite Freeman previously picking up a booking earlier in the game for a late challenge on Greg Taylor just minutes earlier, Robertson decided the blatant handball offence wasn’t worthy of a second yellow card, with former Dundee United manager Craig Levein questioning it on BBC Sportsound’s live commentary, he said:

“It’s been pointed out that Freeman had already been booked. Should he not have been booked for a deliberate handball in the box?”

1 of 10

Celtic fans, do you remember who Ange's first Hoops signing was?

The Verdict: Got away with it

As the goal scorer for the opener Jota attempted to clip through a pass behind Freeman to Greg Taylor, the 22-year-old turned with his arm stretched in an unnatural position and moving towards the ball with the stonewall decision eventually given via a swift check on the monitor.

Usually following a deliberate handball decision, a yellow card follows for the offender but in this instance, Robertson opted to keep the side’s level on numbers as Celtic doubled their lead from the resulting spot-kick.

Perhaps unwilling to put the game out of the reach of the Tangerines himself, the referee leniently decided not to show the second yellow card that an offence of that nature should be met by.

The decision ultimately was insignificant as the Bhoys remained untroubled as they headed to victory but there certainly would’ve been furious questions asked by Ange Postecoglou had it panned out differently and rightly so.

To Top