Do Not Sell My Personal Information

League Two News

EFL League Two News

This is the place to be if you want to catch up on the latest breaking EFL League Two news? We have made it quick and simple for you to access your desired content. From the latest transfer rumours to exclusive articles, you can find all of the latest Sky Bet League Two content right here to keep yourself in the loop with daily news!

EFL League Two History

The EFL League Two was formerly known as the Football League Third Division, which was the third tier division in the English Football League pyramid from 1888 to 1992. However, following the formation of the Premier League in 1992, the division was rebranded as the fourth tier of English football and given the name of Football League Two in 2004. In 2016, it adopted its current name of the EFL League Two. Find out more about the EFL League Two here!

In 1921-22, the league continued as the Football League Third Division South whilst the Football League Third Division North was formed with the Northern clubs, the two divisions formed the third tier of English football jointly. The geographical separation was scrapped in 1958, and the creation of the Football League Fourth Division was imminent. The original members as a single Third Division included: Bournemouth, Bradford City, Brentford, Norwich City, QPR, Reading, and Southampton.

The league comprises 24 teams, which means every team plays a total of 46 games (one home and one away against each other). At the end of the season, the champions are promoted up to the EFL League One along with the runners-up and third-place team, and the bottom two teams are automatically relegated down to the National League. As four teams are promoted to the top flight, League Two has a play-off knock-out competition at the end of the season for teams who finish in fourth to seventh place. The team who finished fourth plays the team who finished seventh, and the fifth and sixth-placed teams play against each other in a two-legged semi-final.

Each team gets to play at their home stadium, whilst also travelling to their opponents in the reverse fixture. The winners of each semi-final then progresses to a final at Wembley Stadium with the prize being promotion up to the EFL League One; in addition, the team also wins the League Two play-off trophy.

On 18th July 2013, UK bookmaker Sky Bet, announced their new deal with the English Football League to sponsor the new fourth division. Ahead of the 2016-17 season, the Football League was rebranded as the English Football League, hence the rebrand ‘EFL League Two’.

Morecambe currently hold the longest tenure in League Two, the last time they were out of the division was in the 2006-07 season. Port Vale’s Tom Pope holds the record goals scored in a new League Two season since 2004-05, with 31 goals in 2012-13. There are also three former Premier League clubs competing in League Two: Bradford City, Oldham Athletic, and Swindon Town – stay up to date with the latest breaking news from the EFL League Two here!

To Top

Article title: Northampton: Curle has to let John-Joe O’Toole leave in the summer

Please leave feedback to help us improve the site: