Do Not Sell My Personal Information

League One News

EFL League One News

Never miss out on the latest EFL League One news, and check out daily articles across the division. From transfer exclusives, to breaking news, we have got you covered. We have all the content you need so you do not miss out on any news – the best source for breaking Sky Bet League One news!

EFL League One History

The EFL League One was formerly known as the Football League Second Division, which was the second-tier division in the English Football League pyramid from 1888 to 1992. However, following the formation of the Premier League in 1992, the division was rebranded as the third tier of English football and given the name of Football League One in 2004. In 2016, it adopted its current name of the EFL League One. Find out more about the EFL League One here!

The Second Division was originally formed in 1892 with just 12 clubs who had previously played in the Football Alliance (below the Football League). The founder members were: Birmingham City (formerly Small Heath), Bootle, Burton Swifts, Crewe Alexandra, Darwen, Grimsby Town, Lincoln City, Manchester City (formerly Ardwick), Northwich Victoria, Port Vale, Sheffield United, and Walsall. The record league wins is held by Manchester City and Leicester City who have each won seven championships. Over the years it gradually grew until it reached the current 24 teams in 1988.

The league comprises 24 teams, which means every team plays a total of 46 games (one home and one away against each other). At the end of the season, the champions are promoted up to the EFL Championship along with the runners-up, and the bottom four teams are automatically relegated down to Football League Two. As three teams are promoted to the top flight, League One has a play-off knock-out competition at the end of the season for teams who finish in third to sixth place.

The team who finished third plays the team who finished sixth, and the fourth and fifth-placed teams play against each other in a two-legged semi-final. Each team gets to play at their home stadium, whilst also travelling to their opponents in the reverse fixture. The winners of each semi-final then progresses to a final at Wembley Stadium with the prize being promotion up to the EFL Championship; in addition, the team also wins the League One play-off trophy.

On 18th July 2013, UK bookmaker Sky Bet, announced their new deal with the English Football League to sponsor the new third division. Ahead of the 2016-17 season, the Football League was rebranded as the English Football League, hence the rebrand ‘EFL League One’.

Peterborough and Gillingham currently hold the longest tenure in League One, both teams were last out of the division in the 2012-13 season. There are also six former Premier League Clubs who are competing to work their way back out of League One: Blackpool, Bolton, Coventry City, Ipswich Town, Portsmouth, and Sunderland. Stay up to date with the latest breaking news from the EFL League One here!

To Top

Article title: Sunderland: Phil Smith hands Black Cats outcast damning prediction on future

Please leave feedback to help us improve the site: